Friday, August 31, 2012

How it works...

Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works. - Steve Jobs

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Change...

“Your life does not get better by chance, it gets better by change.” ~ Jim Rohn

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Change...

I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it. ~ Maya Angelou

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Walking...

Walking gets the feet moving, the blood moving, the mind moving. And movement is life. - Carrie Latet

Monday, August 27, 2012

After dark...

Why is it called 'after dark' when it really is 'after light'?

Friday, August 24, 2012

Creativity...

The creative adult is the child who survived. - U. LeGuin

Thursday, August 23, 2012

Kitchen odors...

Best way to get rid of kitchen odors: Eat out. -Phyllis Diller

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Don't waste a minute...

Don't waste a minute not being happy. If one window closes, run to the next window- or break down a door. -Brooke Shields

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

The way you look...

I think by being happy it actually affects the way that you look too. -Kelly Preston

Monday, August 20, 2012

Remote...

Life has no remote. Get up and change it yourself!

Friday, August 17, 2012

Humor for a Friday...

I used to jog but the ice cubes kept falling out of my glass. -David Lee Roth

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Housework...

Housework can't kill you, but why take a chance? -Phyllis Diller

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Two kinds of people...

There are two kinds of people:
Those who say, "I will believe it when I see it."
And those who say, "To see it, I know I must believe it."
-Rhonda Byrne

Monday, August 13, 2012

Amphibians in trouble.

I didn't realize this was so serious until I watched this episode of Nature. "It is the greatest mass extinction since the dinosaurs. Population by population, species by species, amphibians are vanishing off the face of the Earth."
http://www.pbs.org/wnet/nature/episodes/frogs-the-thin-green-line/video-full-episode/4882/">View video at PBS.org I encourage you to watch this episode. Amphibians play an extremely important role, not only in nature, but also in our research in finding cures for so many ailments and diseases.

Friday, August 10, 2012

Understanding life...

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”
- John Lennon

Thursday, August 9, 2012

Build cool things...

Don't let distractions, the daily grind, or failures set you back. Continue to build cool things and create awesome stuff. - Nick Thacker, 'Call to Action'

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Unessential...

“It's not the daily increase but daily decrease. Hack away at the unessential.”
-Bruce Lee

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Add value...

Wherever you are, whatever you do—seek to add value to other peoples’ lives. If they need help, help. If they need advice, point them in the right direction. Don’t expect reciprocation, but know that adding value is reciprocal.
- Nick Thacker, 'Call to Action'

Monday, August 6, 2012

Winning...

Anybody can win, unless there happens to be a second entry. ~George Ade

Friday, August 3, 2012

Take a break...

Periodic breaks help you process and absorb new information, increasing your efficiency. - Michael McKee, Ph.D.

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Stop.

Are you complaining? Stop. There are better things to do with your time & energy. -Kelly Shipp

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

7 years to digest...

Myth busted: If you swallow your gum, it takes 7 years to digest. That's False. Gastroenterologist Dr. Richard Desi says that gum is like anything else you put in your stomach. What's digestible gets absorbed, and what isn't, passes right through.